h1

“My Beautiful Nerd”

October 6, 2009

It is absolutely amazing what one word can do as it crosses your mind. A bunch of memories float to the surface. “My Beautiful Nerd” is a favorite phrase of endearment once attributed to me by someone. I love it because it conveys who I am (nerdy and proud of it), what I hope I am and want to be(beautiful) and it conveys possession. I was someone’s. I was theirs.

Some things come to an end. However, the desire to be wanted, to be not owned, but… something special to someone else, and something beautiful, and to be valued for everything you are…that stays with you. You can’t take that away. It’s within each one of us. It’s one of the things that motivates us to do so many of the things we do…trying to form friendships, trying to belong to a family structure, trying to work hard, and trying to create something good. It’s a desire that, misplaced, can get us into trouble…we look for value in things and end up self-destructing. However, the negative does not always rule. We DO belong. We ARE valued. We ARE special. And we ARE someone’s. In fact, we’re likely a someone to several someones.

There is Someone who we will always belong to. There is Someone who loves us for everything we are, and Someone who calls us beautiful and means it. I am so glad that I follow, worship, and belong to that Someone. I will always and forever be His Beautiful Nerd. No one can take that away from me.

Leave a Reply

